top of page

The Not-Too-Sweet Paleo Cranberry Sauce

Most cranberry sauces have either white sugar (not paleo) or orange juice in them. If you didn't already know, oranges are in my top 3 list of things I hate (a strong but correct word choice here). I know it's weird AF, I don't know why, nothing traumatic ever happened, I've just always had this orange phobia and all my friends find it funny to chase me around with an orange... I wish I was kidding because this is embarrassing and I don't know why I'm sharing it. 

Everything from the smell to the fibrous strings on them grosses me out- I straight up won't even make 'fresh OJ' for my private clients- go buy it. Now that you know how weird I am, let's move on to this no-OJ cranberry sauce.

This is the perfect cranberry sauce recipe for your thanksgiving dinner! The coconut sugar slightly sweetens it without giving it that confectionary-overly-sweet taste that you often get with store-bought sauces. My client, who doesn't like cranberry sauce, loved this so much she asked for the recipe- so rest assure it'll be a hit at your table. If you're fancy and a fatty, add a lil ginger and serve this with foie gras for Christmas...that's what I'm doing this weekend for a dinner party of 10! (Catch it on instastory @paleocollective) 

Ingredients:

1 10oz bag of frozen organic cranberries

2 cups beef stock

1 cup finely chopped yellow onion (about 1 small onion)

2 tbsp grass-fed ghee

1/4 cup coconut sugar

2 tsp dried thyme

1/2 tsp dried sage

2 1/2 tsp arrowroot flour

A splash of champagne vinegar

Instructions:

1. In a sauce pan on medium high heat, melt the ghee, and cook the onions till golden

2. Add the thyme and sage, cook for 2 mins

3. Add the broth, bring to a simmer for about 15 minutes until the liquid has reduced to about 2/3 of the original amount 

4. Strain the mixture, discard the onion and herbs, return the liquid to the sauce pan

5. Add the champagne vinegar, followed by the cranberries and coconut sugar. Bring to a boil until all the cranberries have burst. When they start bursting, I like to go in with a wooden spoon and smash some of them. However, don't turn the whole mixture into a giant mush because you still want those big chunks!

6. Whisk in the arrowroot flour, and let it cook for another minute before removing from heat

7. Let the sauce sit out for about 15 minutes as this allows it to slowly thicken.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
bottom of page